Other Pamplin Media Group sites

INSIDERS (Sponsored Content)

Brought to you by Dr. Rod Johnson, Total Health Dental - DENTAL INSIDER -
Brought to you by Linda Elder, Woodland Heights Assisted Living Residence - ASSISTED LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Peter Bodley, Summerfield Estates Retirement Community - INDEPENDENT LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Kara Tobey, Prestige Senior Living Riverwood - RETIREMENT LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Marissa Phillips, ComForCare Home Care - IN-HOME CARE INSIDER -
Brought to you by Maiya Burbank, Pacific Pointe Retirement Inn - SENIOR LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Annette Saarinen, AccounTax of Oregon - ACCOUNTING INSIDER -
What can your business gain from a professionally designed website? A lot, as it turns out.
Brought to you by Kara Tobey - Prestige Senior Living Riverwood - RETIREMENT LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Pacific Medical Group, MEDICAL FAMILY PRACTICE INSIDER -
Brought to you by Peter Bodley, Summerfield Estates Retirement Community - INDEPENDENT LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Dr. Rod Johnson, Total Health Dental - DENTAL INSIDER -


Tigard's Opinions

April 27, 2017

Vote 'yes' for Enhanced Sheriff's Patrol District

by The Times
Newspaper: Services needed more than ever as Washington County continues to grow.
FILE PHOTO: JONATHAN HOUSE - Students at Tigard and Tualatin high schools walked out of class on May 19, 2016, to protest racism in schools and the community.
April 20, 2017

Ignore bad delivery of message: Tigard should declare itself 'sanctuary'

by The Times
The message - that all residents of Tigard have equal value in the eyes of the city government - is worthy.
Arthur Crino
April 20, 2017

Tigard's urban development projects will raise your taxes

by Arthur Crino
A group, 123Tigard, wants to protect the livability of our community.


John Goodhouse
April 20, 2017

Why a 'yes' vote on urban renewal is good for Tigard

by John Goodhouse
The Tigard Triangle is roughly 500 acres in size; almost the same footprint as downtown Portland.
April 13, 2017

Our cities benefit from program on president's chopping block

by The Times
It's easy to find facilities and programs in Beaverton, Tigard, Tualatin, Sherwood and the rest of Washington County that have received funds from block grants.
FILE PHOTO - Tigard Mayor John Cook has outlined his goals for the coming year's budget.
April 13, 2017

Mayor Cook: Tigard budget remains on steady course

by John Cook
City has a roughly $137 million budget, which has to be adopted before the fiscal year ends in June.
April 06, 2017

Our View: Some 'lost causes' are worth conversation, consideration

by The Times
A bill to cover postage costs for ballot envelopes in Oregon? A bill to shield courthouses from immigration enforcement? We like the ideas, even if they are doomed.
April 06, 2017

Letters to the editor

by The Times
Celebrating Persian culture, a defense of the popular vote compact and a cautionary tale about using social media to date.
March 30, 2017

Our View: Legislature should raise tobacco use age to 21

by The Times
The bill passed the Senate and is on its way to the House.
STAFF PHOTO: DANA HAYNES - People gathered at the old stock exchange to leave memorials. Those in mourning included peole of Muslim, Jewish and Christian faith.
March 29, 2017

Opinion: Terrorism in Europe and its 100 percent failure rate

by Dana Haynes
London will bounce back, just like other cities hit by terrorism.
March 23, 2017

Our Opinion: Legislature should require more transparency

by Editorial board
Members of the public, journalists, researchers and others who seek records in Oregon have waited months, and even years, to get public documents.
Mikel Kelly
March 23, 2017

Where did our society really start going wrong? In gym class

by Mikel Kelly
My real beef with P.E. teachers was that they never took into account how hard a person worked to perform the assigned maneuvers in their class.
March 23, 2017

Letters to the editor

by The Times
Topics this week including housing prices, health care and fuel efficiency standards.
March 16, 2017

Our View: Westside Bypass proposal should get shelved

by The Times
But rookie lawmaker Rep. Richard Vial gets applause for a brave and innovative idea.
March 09, 2017

Should Oregon join the National Popular Vote Compact?

by Marge Easley
Marge Easley: The Legislature should pass the National Popular Vote bill (SB 823).
March 09, 2017

Editorial: Don't vote for ODOT budget until documents released

by Pamplin Media Group
Stonewalling by an analysis firm just hurts the credibility of the Transportation Department.
March 09, 2017

Opinion: Put social workers back in our schools

by Kelly Skellenger
Kelly Skellenger says a pair of bills pending in the Oregon Legislature would direct the state education department to hire and place more social workers in our schools.
COURTESY WIKIMEDIA/OREGON STATE SENATE - Oregon State Senate districts, shown by blue Democrats and red Republicans.
March 02, 2017

My View: Redistricting will move state forward

by Dennis Richardson
This process is crucial to ensure fair representation in the legislative branches of government.
March 02, 2017

Our View: Time has come for bold plan on Tigard Triangle

by The Times
Why can't the Tigard Triangle be the next big land use success story?
March 02, 2017

Letters to the editor

by The Times
Readers sound off on immigration raids, and musician who performed locally.

Don't miss the local news